The Art of Clothes Swapping

Recently I have become quite the connoisseur of a good clothes swap. I’ve swished my way into new outfits, accessories and shoes for either free entry or under a fiver!

Last weekend (18th May) I popped down to Ivy Manchester in Didsbury for a clothes swap to raise money for a cause dedicated to serving young people that are out of school – NGage. It was fabulous! I came home with two dresses, a cardigan and a jumper. I certainly cashed in on the M&S Knitwear. As a student, I could never afford clothes from Marks and Sparks!

It was a really laid back atmosphere. Often the organisers will exchange the clothes you bring for a voucher with the number of items you can take – this means we don’t go all murderous eyes and greedy when the bell goes and its time to swap! There was quite a collection when we were let loose to start trying on, and I think I took about 10 things to try on at first… not all of worked on me though! I’ve got a top heavy figure, a big bust and no butt. I did however manage to find a few bits and pieces that weren’t too shabby – dresses that flattered and posh knitwear that wouldn’t go all bobbly after the first wash.

This weekend I headed to Soup Kitchen in the Northern Quarter for a ‘Waste Not Clothes Swap’. This one was £3 entry and because its the NQ I knew it was going to be vintage and full of quirks. Low and behold I returned home with a couple of nice summer tops (sequins and all) and a Topshop sheer waistcoat, I predicted the latter being a great addition to my classic basic top leggings and heels look I live by, day AND night. There were a few other stalls there as well that added to the scenery and overall it was a lovely way to spend my Sunday afternoon.

I really really love the idea of clothes swapping. I get bored of my clothes so easily, and it just means that you might find something you’d never usually buy but make a great addition to the wardrobe. I’ve also enjoyed the epic LACK of crop tops, skin tight lace and backless everythings that swamp high street stores these days…. I mean it just doesn’t work for me. I like to be comfy, and showing off my best bits, which low and behold isn’t ALL of me.

Clothes swaps are also a great way of fundraising. Its easy, fun and means you get to learn a bit more about a cause and why it exists. In the past I’ve clothes swapped for Oxfam, Stop the Traffik and then Ivy Fallowfield (my church). I think it also provides a more ethical way of approaching fashion – recycling and re-using clothing saves money and can prompt people to change how they view buying things brand new straight out of the high street. So go on, get swapping!

 

IMG_0474

 

Oxfam: http://www.oxfam.org.uk/get-together

Stop the Traffik: http://www.stopthetraffik.org/

N-Gage: http://www.n-gage.org.uk

Soup Kitchen: http://soup-kitchen.co.uk/

Ivy Fallowfield: http://www.fallowfield.ivymanchester.org/

 

2 thoughts on “The Art of Clothes Swapping

  1. Pingback: My Style Evolution … to Style Rut? | Musings of a Mixed Girl

Leave a Reply

